Author Topic: 24 volt at all zones?  (Read 4433 times)

hilly555

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
24 volt at all zones?
« on: February 12, 2014, 05:45:33 am »
I'm getting 24 volt at each zone point even though no zones are set to be on, this is wrong surely

I wanted to see if I can get the zones to run for fractions of a minute, so I used my multimeter to test it. To my surprise, all the zones 1 to 8 have 24 volt on them, even the Master valve although I set it to off.
Are there any dip switches I need to set to?

Thanks
Mike

bluespray_admin

  • Global Moderator
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 327
    • View Profile
Re: 24 volt at all zones?
« Reply #1 on: February 12, 2014, 04:25:20 pm »
The zone terminals should not have 24VAC when not running.  Did you connect the wiring correctly?
They will not turn on for a fraction of a minute BTW, the minimum unit it accepts is 1 minute.
« Last Edit: February 12, 2014, 04:35:07 pm by bluespray_admin »

hilly555

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
Re: 24 volt at all zones?
« Reply #2 on: February 13, 2014, 12:27:16 am »
The dotted grey lead is on the 24 Volt, the other solid black is on the common, no other wires are hooked up as yet.
I thought it was possible the voltage is present as a means of "polling" the zones to see if a solenoid is present.
Thanks
Hilly

bluespray_admin

  • Global Moderator
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 327
    • View Profile
Re: 24 volt at all zones?
« Reply #3 on: February 13, 2014, 09:13:41 am »
Yes, the power wires go to the left 2 terminals on the right.